Shopping Cart
cd vinyl or cassette

The Diary Of J Dilla

Regular price $12.99

The Estate of James Yancey has revived J Dilla’s longstanding company PayJay as a functioning imprint to release Dilla’s long lost vocal album, The Diary, in conjunction with Mass Appeal Records. Initially intended for release in 2002, The Diary is the final batch of unissued material that Dilla had assembled for release during his lifetime, lending crucial insight into the producer’s prowess and thought process in the period leading up to his break with the major label system and the extremely fertile period that followed (which encompassed the making of the canonical classics Ruff Draft, Jaylib, and Donuts). The Diary features vocal performances by J Dilla, Snoop Dogg, Bilal, Kokane, Frank and Dank, Nottz and Boogie, over production by Dilla, Madlib, Pete Rock, Hi-tek, Nottz, House Shoes, Supa Dave West, Bink! and Karriem Riggins.


    1. The Introduction
    2. The Anthem (feat. Frank & Dank)
    3. Fight Club (feat. Nottz & Boogie)
    4. The Shining Pt. 1 (Diamonds) (feat. Kenny Wray)
    5. The Shining Pt. 2 (Ice)
    6. Trucks
    7. Gangsta Boogie (feat. Snoop Dogg & Kokane)
    8. Drive Me Wild
    9. Give Them What They Want
    10. The Creep (The O)
    11. The Ex (feat. Bilal)
    12. So Far
    13. Fuck The Police
    14. The Diary